Museum of Veterinary History and A. and M. Mahler Microscope Collection Zürich

The museum demonstrates how veterinary medicine has changed from a trade to a scientific profession on the basis of the instruments and documentation from the faculty, as well as through equipment used in practice. The exhibition also provides an entertaining and impressive insight into the history of veterinary medicine at the University of Zurich.

300 years ago: Diseases threaten cattle stocks

Cattle no longer feed as they once did, cows produce less milk, a calf has died...

The farmer has to fend for himself. Can a skilful neighbor, the blacksmith or the knacker come to his aid? There is a famous "cattle doctor" living in the next village. However, his “cures” won't work here either. The vicar is relying upon preaching sermons about "remedies to counter cattle pests".

All efforts are in vain. Cattle plague ravages cowshed after cowshed.

200 years ago: "Veterinary schools" are founded.

  • Claude Bourgelat opens the world's first veterinary school in Lyons in 1762.
  • The Berne school opens its doors in 1806.
  • A veterinary school is established in the "Feldegg" building in Zurich in 1820. Young men train to be vets at this "vocational; school". The veterinary trade gradually becomes a science.

100 years ago: The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine is established.

Following a cantonal referendum, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine opens as the fifth faculty of the University of Zurich in 1902.

Excellent teachers and researchers consolidate the reputation of the Zurich school. New institutes and clinics are built. The premises in Selnau become tight for space. Following a cantonal referendum, the Veterinary Clinic is built in Winterthurerstrasse in 1959.

The A. and M. Mahler Microscope Collection Zurich

The Microscope Collection houses a vast collection of microscopes from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries which have also played, and continue to play, an important role in veterinary medicine as instruments of research and diagnosis.

An instrument of research revolutionizes the science

The history of the microscope dates back to the early 17th century. Medical research was slow to embrace the new device at the start. However, with the discovery of body cells, disease-related changes in tissue and micro-organisms, doctors start to conduct microscopic examinations more readily.

Albert Mahler-Lee (1911–2000) used the light microscope all his life and amassed a unique collection of instruments spanning three centuries.

Museum zur Geschichte der Veterinärmedizin und A. und M. Mahler Microscope Collection Zürich

Das Museum zeigt anhand von Instrumenten und Dokumenten aus der Fakultät sowie von Utensilien aus der Praxis den Wandel der Veterinärmedizin von einem handwerklichen zu einem naturwissenschaftlichen Beruf. Die Ausstellung bietet zudem auf unterhaltsame Weise einen eindrücklichen Einblick in die Geschichte der Veterinärmedizin an der Universität Zürich.

Vor 300 Jahren: Krankheiten bedrohen den Viehbestand

Das Vieh frisst nicht mehr wie zuvor, die Kühe geben weniger Milch, ein Kalb ist gestorben...

Der Bauer ist auf sich selbst gestellt. Kann ihm ein geschickter Nachbar, der Hufschmied oder der Abdecker helfen? Im Nachbardorf wohnt ein berühmter "Viehdoktor". Aber auch dieser ist mit seinen «Kuren» hilflos. Der Pfarrer verliest nach der Predigt «Rezepte gegen Viehpresten».

Alle Bemühungen sind vergeblich. Stall um Stall wird von der Viehseuche ergriffen.

Vor 200 Jahren: «Tierarzneischulen» werden gegründet

  • 1762 eröffnet Claude Bourgelat in Lyon die erste Tierarzneischule der Welt.
  • 1806 öffnet die Berner Schule ihre Pforten.
  • 1820 wird in Zürich im Haus «Feldegg» eine Tierarzneischule eingerichtet. An dieser «Berufsschule» lernen junge Männer die Tierarznei. Das tierärztliche Handwerk wird nach und nach zu einer Wissenschaft.

Vor 100 Jahren: Die Veterinär-medizinische Fakultät entsteht

1902 nimmt nach einer kantonalen Volksabstimmung die Veterinär-medizinische Fakultät als fünfte Fakultät der Universität Zürich den Betrieb auf.

Hervorragende Lehrer und Forscher festigen den Ruf der Zürcher Schule. Neue Institute und Kliniken entstehen. Der Standort im Selnau wird eng. 1959 kann nach einer kantonalen Abstimmung das Tierspital an der Winterthurerstrasse gebaut werden.

Die A. und M. Mahler Microscope Collection Zürich

Die Microscope Collection präsentiert eine reiche Sammlung an Mikroskopen aus dem 18., 19. und 20. Jahrhundert, welche als Forschungs- und Diagnostikinstrumente auch in der Veterinärmedizin eine bedeutende Rolle spielten und spielen.

Ein Forschungsinstrument revolutioniert die Wissenschaft

Die Geschichte des Mikroskopes beginnt anfangs des 17. Jahrhunderts. Zu Beginn hat sich die medizinische Forschung nur zögernd des neuen Gerätes bedient. Mit der Entdeckung der Körperzellen, der krankheitsbedingten Gewebeveränderungen und der Mikroorganismen aber befassen sich die Mediziner intensiv mit mikroskopischen Untersuchungen.

Albert Mahler-Lee (1911–2000) hat sich zeitlebens mit dem Lichtmikroskop befasst und eine einmalige Sammlung von Instrumenten aus drei Jahrhunderten geschaffen.