Plagiarism

Policy of the Vetsuisse Faculty UZH

on the use of the plagiarism detection software „PlagScan-in-a-BOX“

[Referring to the policy paper released by the Teaching Commission of the University of Zurich]

The review and control of student work in respect to plagiarism with the “PlagScan-in-a-BOX” software is the responsibility of the students’ supervisors.

For Master theses, the review by the supervisors is voluntary; however, if Master theses are deposited on ZORA, the review is mandatory. At the time of submission of the Master thesis, students give permission for a review with the plagiarism software to be carried out.

Doctoral theses are always subject to review by the supervisors. At the time of submission of the doctoral thesis to the supervisor, to the responsible Dean’s office or to the respective doctoral program (e.g., LSZGS or GCB), the students give permission for a review with the plagiarism software to be carried out.

The review of the theses by the supervisors must be confirmed with the submission of the theses’ evaluation. The supervisor must indicate whether parts of the text are classified as problematic. If the supervisor suspects that the similarity of the text exceeds a tolerable level, the supervisor may include the Master Thesis Committee in the case of Master theses, or the Vice Dean for Research in the case of dissertations for the assessment.

Portal Plagiat Prüfung PlagScan

Plagiate: Prävention, Entdeckung und Ahndung

Plagiate

Policy der Vetsuisse-Fakultät UZH

zum Umgang mit der Plagiatserkennungssoftware PlagScan-in-a-BOX

[Bezugnehmend auf das Policy Papier der Lehrkommission der Universität Zürich]

Die Überprüfung von studentischen Arbeiten auf Plagiate mit der PlagScan-in-a-BOX Software obliegt den Betreuerinnen und Betreuern der Studierenden.

Masterarbeiten können von den Betreuerinnen und Betreuern überprüft werden; falls Masterarbeiten auf ZORA hinterlegt werden, muss eine Überprüfung stattfinden. Mit der Abgabe der Masterarbeit geben die Studierenden die Erlaubnis, dass eine Überprüfung durchgeführt werden kann.

Doktorarbeiten müssen von den Betreuerinnen und Betreuern überprüft werden. Mit der Abgabe der Doktorarbeit beim Betreuer, auf dem zuständigen Dekanat oder beim entsprechenden Doktoratsprogramm geben die Studierenden die Erlaubnis, dass eine Überprüfung durchgeführt werden kann.

Die Überprüfung der Arbeit durch die Betreuerinnen oder Betreuer muss mit der Abgabe des Referats zur Arbeit bestätigt werden. Im Referat muss ausgewiesen sein, ob Textanteile vom Betreuer oder der Betreuerin als problematisch eingestuft werden. Bei Verdacht der Betreuerinnen und Betreuer, dass Textgleichheiten ein tolerierbares Mass überschreiten, ziehen die Betreuerinnen und Betreuer im Fall von Masterarbeiten das Masterarbeits-Komitee, im Fall von Dissertationen den Prodekan bzw. die Prodekanin Forschung zur Beurteilung bei.

Portal Plagiat Prüfung PlagScan

Plagiate: Prävention, Entdeckung und Ahndung